2017 Football Luncheon

Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2017 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Caleb Dodd, West High


This regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athlete and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.


71st Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 6th, 2017

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Willie Barney, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Dale Monroe, Chief Administrator - Aaron Ferrie, Principal
East High School - Marla Padget, Principal - Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2017 MVP Football Selections

Mitch McFarland, Columbus High School - Ja'Cee Clark, East High School - Caleb Dodd, West High School

2017 Keynote Speaker Coach Alex Pollack, Aplington-Parkersburg

Columbus High School

Nick Augustine, Justin Jasper, Joe Nathe,
Mason Bennett, Connor Langan, Dan Novotney,
Sam Buser, Jacob McBride, Adam Parsons,
Nathan Corrigan, Mitch McFarland, Cole Weber, Nick Feldmann
Head Coach: Brad Schmit
Assistant Coaches: Jay Schmit, Ben Barnett, Sean Kennedy, Mitch Rahm,
Jacob Van Beisen, Jeff Westhoff, Mark O’Donnell

East High School

Ja’Cee Clark, Damon Johnson, Jason Wright,

Tyrell Gordon, Joseph Putman

Head Coach: Xavier Leonard

Assistant Coaches:  Regis Baskerville, Jonathan Beckman, Terrance Freeney,
Justin Jacobs, William Muhammad, Bruce Pietro, Wilmot Wellington

West High School

Evan Baker, Dallas Jenkins, Adijan Muhamedagic,
Kalen Burt, Devon Jones, Kadin Paulus,
Ross Brown, Devarious Landfair, Ian Schaver,
Cade Dodd, Driken Langbata II, Zacc Sanders,
Caleb Dodd, Moses Mendez-Ramon, Damon Theis,
Richardson Gbeynie, Nate Morris, Marrio Wright,

Demaurion Hall, Jacob Mrzlak

Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant Coach: Gabe Cowen, Joe Davis, Matt Grimm,
Eric Harbaugh, Joe Kadlac, David Milder, DeAngelo Newman,
Stewart Rickert, Andrew Robinson, Nick Roe


Special thanks to the 2017 Rotary Football Committee and volunteers.  

Thanks Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.