2017 Volleyball Luncheon
Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club
2017 Athletic Awards
     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.
 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2017
Alexis Wroe, East High School


25th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon
Honored Guests
Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools
Dr. Willie Barney, District Athletic Director
Columbus High School - Tom Ulses, Principal, Aaron Ferrie, Athletic Director
Don Bosco High School - Casey Redmond, Principal, Tom Hogan, Athletic Director
East High School - Marla Padget, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
Waterloo Christian School - Jennifer Neifer, Principal, Carmen Wipf, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director
Valley Lutheran High School - Brian L'Heureux, Principal, Ryan Smiley, Athletic Director

Keynote Speaker - Abigail Breitbach Robertson - Don Bosco Volleyball Head Coach

Columbus High School MVP - Anna Sinnott

Head Coach: Hanna Nuss, Assistant Coaches: Bryan Duggan, Kerry Merrifield, Brittney Weber
Hannah Clasen, Lily Christensen, Olivia Fain, Tatiana Myers, Ana Ortiz, Anna Sinnott

Don Bosco High School MVP - Kindra Welter
Head Coach:  Abby Breitbach Robertson, Assistant Coaches: Karen Breitbach, Jennie Schares
Alllie Hirschauer, Maddie Huff, Mandee Miller, Sydney Purdy, Maddey Seims, Kindra Welter, Brianna Zoll

East High School MVP - Alexis Wroe
Head Coach: Lori Netty, Assistant Coaches: Skyler Ahrens, Brian Girsch, Marty McConville                
Indya Beaman, Brianna Netty, Raelynn Owens, Alexis Wroe

Waterloo Christian School MVP - Abigail Doering
Head Coach: Angela Evans, Assistant Coach:  Danielle Iseminger 
Abigail Doering, Abigail Mazzarella, Maddie Rowenhorst, Mallory Smith

West High School MVP - Shelby Schoonover
Head Coach: Malcolm Cleope, Assistant Coach: Kaylene Orr
Tiana Barret, Zia Collet, Maci Garcia, Rylie Porter, Taryn Ray,
Shelby Schoonover, Brooke Stackhouse, Mary Smith, Morgan Ubbelohde

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Geneva Basye
Head Coach: Len Brokenshire, Assistant Coach: Katie Gates, 
Emma Armbrecht, Isabelle Norton, Katelynn Panning

Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee: 
Barb Prather and Jaclyne Heller.   
Greeters: Kathy Braun, Lauren Finke, Donna Miller 
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.