Related Pages
Photo Albums

Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2020 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Alex Feldmann, Columbus High School


The regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athlete and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.


74th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Virtual Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 16th, 2020

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Dan Huff, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Tom Novotney, Chief Administrator - Taylor Hotek, Activity Coordinator
East High School - Joseph Parker, Principal - Tim Moses, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal - Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

2020 MVP Football Selections


Alex Feldmann, Columbus High School - Chase Niles, East High School - Nate Ewell, West High School

2020 Keynote Speaker - Ted Batemon



Columbus High School

Alex Buser, Nolan Leslie, Ryan Picken,
Joe Dunlay, Ethan Menteer, David Randall,
Alex Feldmann, Andy Nunez, Patrick Steele, Joseph Haag
Head Coach: Brad Schmit
Assistant Coaches: Eddie Fischer, Dan Knipp, Mitch Rahm, Matt Shelton, Jeff Westhoff, Scott Lockard

East High School

Jaxon Bentley, JaQuoi Harrington, Jose Rubio,
Maize Black, Jamon Hunt, Brendon Stigler,
Peyton Borseth, Riley Krall, Christian Thompson,
Darienta Campbell, Mateo Martinez, Collin Yu,
Ethan Chihak, Chase Niles

Head Coach: Regis Baskerville
Assistant Coaches:  Terrance Freeney, Jarred Johnston, Ben Leroy, Dan Mast,
Mike Sailor, Tyler Sorenson, Derrick Turner, Wilmot Wellington

West High School

DeVontray Betancourt, Jackson Reed, Jay Shaw,
Gunner Burton, Mike Robinson, Nermin Sivic,
Tayvious Campbell, Clayton Rottinghaus, Jacob Stevenson,
Nate Ewell, Miguel Rubio, Adam Teare,
Maki Leflore, Abraham Sanchez, Orlando Vivians,
Tay Norman, Carter Schulte
Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant Coaches: Joe Davis, Matt Grimm, Eric Harbaugh, Will Harberts,
David Milder, DeAngelo Newman, Nick Roe, Jackson Scott-Brown,
Dan Westhoff, Ben Thoma, Nate Persons


Special thanks to the 2020 Rotary Football Committee: Wade Itzen, Rick Morris, Kevin Sonnenberg and John Mallen.  

Thanks Mason Fromm for webpage.