Related Pages
Photo Albums

Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2022 Athletic Awards

     Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Carson Hartz, Columbus High School


The regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athlete and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

     Awards are presented at a luncheon attended by Rotarians, the senior players from each of the area teams, their coaches, parents, and honored guests. Scroll down to see pictures of the MVP picks from each school.

76th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Football Recognition Luncheon

Presented November 14th, 2022

Honored Guests

Dr. Jared Smith, Superintendent of Schools

Dan Huff, District Athletic Director

Columbus Catholic High School - Tony Harrington, Principal - Tom Novotney, Chief Administrator - Nick Petaros, Activity Coordinator
East High School - Joseph Parker, Principal - Tim Moses, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal - Tom Ulses, Athletic Director - Dr. Anthony Pappas


2022 MVP Football Selections


Columbus High School - Carson Hartz
East High School - Billy Clark III
West High School - Kyle Elliott

2022 Keynote Speaker - Pete Moris, Director of University Relations at UNI


Columbus High School

Jack Dugan, Connor Knudtson, Gavin Reed,
Carson Hartz, Joseph Kwofie, Gus Skilling,
Caleb Holthaus, Kyle McCray, Major Westhoff
Head Coach: Brad Schmit
Ass’t Coaches: Nick Bellamy, Dan Knipp, Mitch Rahm,
Dru Robinson, Caleb Vesely, Jeff Westhoff

East High School

Billy Clark III, Atarion Spates, Antavious Williams,
Quention Hart, Nazier Todd, Shakur Wright

Head Coach: De’Carlos Anderson
Assistant Coaches: Andrew Bruemmer, Phedrick Cody, A J Harmon,
Corey (Will) Muhammad,  Dan Mast, Mike Sailor, AaronTaylor

West High School

Dupree Banks, Deric Kieler, Launy Souvenance,
Kyle Elliott, Anell Kudic, Xavier Teague,
Parker Engstrom, Smith Pompilus, Jr., Landon Timm,
Cavelle Fay, Evan Schaver, Alex Willis,
Noah Jebe, Terez Smith, Josh Willis
Head Coach: Lonnie Moore
Assistant Coaches: Ryan Dabney, Joe Davis, John Dunford,
Eric Harbaugh, Jerred Johnston, Nick Lamphler,
DeAngelo Newman, Nick Pelffer, Nick Roe, Brian White,
Ben Thoma, McKinley Hawe


Special thanks to the 2022 Rotary Football Committee: Wade Itzen and Rick Morris.  

Thanks Mason Fromm for webpage and videography.