2019 Volleyball

2019 Volleyball
Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club
2019 Athletic Awards
Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then by ballot of all the coaches award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at her school for the next twelve months.
 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2019
Avery Kroll, West High School


27th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon
Honored Guests
Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools
Dan Huff, District Athletic Director
Columbus High School - Daniel Thole, Principal, Taylor Hotek, Athletic Director
Don Bosco High School - Casey Redmond, Principal, Tom Hogan, Athletic Director
East High School - Joseph Parker, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
Waterloo Christian School - Ryan Hall, Principal
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director
Valley Lutheran High School - Brian L'Heureux, Principal, Brian Jo, Athletic Director

Our Keynote Speaker was Beth West. Beth is a former UNI Volleyball player herself from 2006-2010 (née Discher). West earned CoSIDA Academic All-District honors and was a first-team all-Missouri Valley Conference performer in 2010. She was UNI’s candidate for NCAA Woman of the Year in 2011. After graduating, West worked in Des Moines and recently returned to her alma mater where she is now the Senior Associate Athletic Director for Business at the University of Northern Iowa.

Columbus High School MVP - Megan Knudtson
Head Coach: Kerry Merrifield, Assistant Coaches: Bryan Duggan, Renee Drey, Chris Hagness, Tammy Wheeler
Kenna Boleyn, Bella Fain, Emma Purdy,
Jenna Schott, Emily Surma

Don Bosco High School MVP - Kennedi Purdy
Head Coach:  Jenni Schares, Assistant Coach: Jamie Even
Tricia Even, Autumn Hellman,
Madi Hubrig, Kennedi Purdy

East High School MVP - Jenna O'Donnell
Head Coach: Corey Kennis, Assistant Coaches: Derick Vaughn, Amy Spooner
Kenidi Adams, Grace Frost, Brooklyn Kiewiet,
Jenna O’Donnell, Carley Spooner

Waterloo Christian School - Gracie Davis
Head Coach: Angela Evans, Assistant Coach:  Danielle Iseminger
Gracie Davis, Mauriella Rubio

West High School MVP - Avery Kroll
Head Coach: Ashley Berinobis, Assistant Coaches: Tyler Gladden
Sabrina Anderson, Lauren Conrey, Endrina Huseinovic,
Allani Gomez, Avery Kroll

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Savannah Schmitz
Coach: Lydia Rusch
Cady Burrington, Danette Heide,
Savannah Schmitz, Ellie VanNice

Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee: 
Barb Prather and Jaclyne Heller.   
Greeters: Bette Wubbena, Lauren Finke, Vicki Mueller, Annie Vander Werff, Brian Aronson, Adam Schaeffer, Nick Rossman
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.