2018 Volleyball
Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club
2018 Athletic Awards
     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.
 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2018
Kate Shannon, Columbus High School


26th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon
Honored Guests
Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools
Dan Huff, District Athletic Director
Columbus High School - Daniel Thole, Principal, Tom Ulses, Athletic Director
Don Bosco High School - Casey Redmond, Principal, Tom Hogan, Athletic Director
East High School - Joseph Parker, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director
Waterloo Christian School - Ryan Hall, Principal, Carmen Wipf, Athletic Director
West High School - Andy Miehe, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director
Valley Lutheran High School - Brian L'Heureux, Principal, Brian Jo, Athletic Director

Keynote Speaker - Olivia Schmitt - KWWL Reporter

Columbus High School MVP - Kate Shannon
Head Coach: Hanna Nuss, Assistant Coaches: Bryan Duggan, Kerry Merrifield, Brittney Weber
Julia Benda, Grace Harms, Caitlin Heine,
Kylee Phillips, Sofia Sanders, Sydney Schultz,
Grace Sullivan, Abby Ward

Don Bosco High School MVP - Ashley Grapp
Head Coach:  Jenni Schares, Assistant Coaches: Jennifer Sorenson,  Lexy Hogan
Tatum Bedard, Maddie Boldt, Ashley Grapp,
Emma Johnstone, Marissa McFadden, Brooke Steimel

East High School MVP - Brooke Meighan
Head Coach: Corey Kennis
Doris Dilparic, Faith Even, Tiffany Even,
Josalyn Harmon, Brooke Meighan, Kayhil Schmit

Waterloo Christian School - No 2018 Seniors
Head Coach: Angela Evans

West High School MVP - Kaylissa Arndorfer
Head Coach: Haley Eckerman
Kaylissa Arndorfer, Christina Campbell, Jada Draine,
Kaitlyn Meyer, Breann Minikus, Grace Patterson,  
Abby Payne, Ajla Rizvic, Reawna Tietz, Rachel Wagner

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Addyson Kaune
Coaches: Brian Jo, Katie Gates
   Addyson Kaune, Emma Edgar-Schwebach, Vanessa Lewis 

Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee: 
Barb Prather and Jaclyne Heller.   
Greeters: Kaye Englin, Bette Wubbena, Annie Vander Werff, and Jim Schaefer.
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and webpage.