Since 1946 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at his school for the next twelve months.


2023 Glen "Doc" Miller Most Valuable Football Player

Mason Knipp, Columbus High School

The regulation-size gold football, mounted on a base, is a travelling trophy given each year by the Downtown Waterloo Rotary to the outstanding player in football in the Waterloo Schools. It is given in memory of an outstanding Rotarian, Glen "Doc" Miller, a great athlete and president of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1954. "Doc" was captain of the University of Iowa football team in 1923, and a player on the great Iowa teams of 1921-22 which beat Yale.

Click here to see photos and video from the 2023 ceremony

2022 Carson Hartz Columbus
2021 Carter Gallagher Columbus
2020 Alex Feldmann Columbus
2019 Ray Seidel Columbus
2018 Donald Patnode Columbus
2017 Caleb Dodd West
2016 Devon Moore West
2015 Trey Burt West
2014 Ben Russell West
2013 Blake Thomas West
2012 Russell Jones East
2011 LeTray Reed East
2010 LaMar Sayles Columbus
2009 Mike Steimel West
2008 Ryan Edwards West
2007 Brett Watkins Columbus
2006 Nick Rachford Columbus
2005 Michael Kofta Columbus
2004 Brad Schmit Columbus
2003 Andy Payton West
2002 Casey Watkins Columbus
2001 Donny Heaton West
2000 P.J. Tentinger Columbus
1999 Josh Payton West
1998 Sean LaCoste West
1997 Joe Knipp Columbus
1996 Jerry Moses, Jr East
1995 Mark Thompson Columbus
1994 DeCarlos Anderson West
1993 Kelly Jones Columbus
1992 Taras Walker Columbus
1991 Ernest Middleton West
1990 Sean Scarbrough Columbus
1989 LeShane Saddler East
1988 Darnell Jones  East
1987 Lew Montgomery East
1986 Scott Staebell Columbus
1985 Chris Kleiman Columbus
1984 Courtney Messingham West
1983 Derrius Loveless East
1982 Kerry Burt West
1981 Mike Berrt Columbus
1980 Dale Anderson West
1979 Mark Loftus East
1978 Mark Wilson East
1977 Dave Berry Columbus