Waterloo Rotary Club History

Related Pages
Photo Albums

Click here to see our original charter certificate

The Waterloo Rotary Club was organized in April 1915 with ten members and received its charter - #168 - on July 1, 1915.  Fred Northey, classification "Refrigerators" was elected as the first president.


With an average club size of 200 members, we are the second largest club in our district.  We have been instrumental in starting nine area clubs:  Ackley, Cedar Falls, Waterloo Crossroads, Grundy Center, Independence, Manchester, Oelwein, Sumner and Waverly.


We have provided eight District Governors:  Fred Northey, Bruce Gates, D.D. Bernbrock, Joe Sage, Paul Barger, Ed Wilson, Dave Buck and Steve Thorpe


Past President Mason has started scanning the 124 pages of Fred Adams' Historical Review of the Waterloo Rotary Club 1915-1966, 1966-1977, 1977-1986.

Here is a link to the pages scanned in so far


Also, be sure to click the Historic Rosters link to the left to see photos of members past (and some still-current members!)