2023 Volleyball

2023 Volleyball
Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club
2023 Athletic Awards
Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then by ballot of all the coaches award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winner is entitled to display the trophy at her school for the next twelve months.
 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2023
Alexis Even, Don Bosco High School


31st Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon
Honored Guests
Dr. Jared Smith, Superintendent of Waterloo Schools
Mr. Dan Huff, District Athletic Director
Columbus High School
Julie Girsh, Athletic Supervisor
Don Bosco High School
Shelby Douglas, Principal
Collin Arndt, Athletic Director
East High School
Byron Phillips, Principal
Mr. Tim Moses, Athletics Director
Waterloo Christian School
Ryan Hall, Head of School
Colton Lueck, Athletics Director
West High School
Mr. Andy Miehe, Principal
Tom Ulses, Athletic Director
Valley Lutheran High School
Brian L’Heureux, Principal
Our Keynote Speaker Tyann Wolfensperger serves as the head coach for Hawkeye’s Women’s Volleyball program. She joined the staff after finishing her Masters of Science in Educational Leadership at Minnesota State University Moorhead in Moorhead, MN. Originally from Bird Island, MN, Wolfensperger graduated from BOLD High School in 2012. 

As a senior she was named West Central Conference MVP and West Central Tribune All-Area first team selection after leading her team to the Minnesota Class A State Tournament. She was then recruited by Upper Iowa University as an outside hitter for the Peacocks. After receiving her bachelor’s degree in biology and psychology with a minor in coaching, Wolfensperger transferred to Minnesota State Moorhead to pursue her master’s degree while competing for the Dragons with her remaining eligibility, and received the Myles Brand Award for her outstanding achievements. 

Throughout her time competing at Upper Iowa and Minnesota State Moorhead, Wolfensperger was involved at the club level coaching Midwest Elite Volleyball Camps, and the Moorhead Juniors Club. Once her eligibility ran out at the Division II level, Wolfensperger stayed on board at Minnesota State Moorhead where she volunteered with the Dragon’s Volleyball program as well as the Recreation and Wellness Department on campus. 

Wolfensperger resides in Waverly with her Husband, Ivan, two kids Kreo and Teal and dog Charlie. 


Columbus High School MVP - Morgan Bradley
Head Coach: Brittney Weber, Assistant Coaches: Bryan Duggan,
Megan Knudston, Sydney Schultz
Morgan Bradley, Alayna Grovo, Rachel Hollen,
Isabelle Noland, Bella Schoo, Natalie Steele, Olivia Surma

Don Bosco High School MVP - Alexis Even
Head Coach:  Jenni Schares, Assistant Coach: Lexy Negen
Sophia Barnett, Alexis Even, Emily Naughton, Hannah Thome

East High School MVP - Danica Chamberlain
Head Coach: Grace Patterson
Niyah Arceneaux, Hayden Bruess, Danica Chamberlain,
Shamara Coleman, Daja Hicks, Natalie Hill,
Adyson Menuey, Alea Norman, Miah Norman,
Madison Pajazetovic, Savanah Payton, Jaelah Stanford

Waterloo Christian School - Reagan Wheeler

Head Coach: Laura Johnson, Assistant Coach: Whitney Lueck
Katie Costello, Hannah Daniel, Alexis Harlan,
Kaylin Jones, Violet LaMarche, Reagan Wheeler

West High School MVP - Bailey Schoepske
Head Coach: Chris Hagness
Ella Anderson, Samantha Elliott, Ava Holmes,
Bailey Schoepske, Peyton Stefancik, Kayla Wellner,
Danica Wrage, Alexa Zanders

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Sofia Van Nice
Head Coach: Kaitlyn Behr
Kendra Miller, Sofia Van Nice

If you have more photos you'd like to share, please email them to Mason
Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee: 
Barb Prather and Jaclyne Heller.   
Greeters: Amy Rousselow, Rachael Hoffman, Joan Rice
Thanks to Mason Fromm for videography, photography and webpage.